Gamescom 2016

Mag and me went to Gamescom 2016. As usual, we had obtained Wednesday tickets as all other days are usually so full, you can only try out 1-3 games.

Our first destination were the Final Fantasy XIV booths. Suprise!

At first we checked out the Battle Challenge. They had Thordan and Sephiroth pictures all over it, so it was one or the other today.

Turns out, it was Thordan.

So we watched the screen and the group was just wiping over and over. So it was really not just Thordan Hard mode, but a more difficult version.

I got scared.

2016-08-17 Gamescom 02

Nevertheless we queued for about 5 minutes until it was our turn. Mag was allowed to play Warrior and I got White Mage. Best choice ever.

We wrecked Thordan. Nobody died. We were pros and carried the group of mostly new people trying out the game for the first time.

Afterwards, we got our well deserved I beat Thordan T-shirts.

Next was the other FFXIV booth with a “Roulette” Challenge and The Feast PvP battle.

2016-08-17 Gamescom 03

There, we first chose the roulette. We happened to be queued with some new and some other pro players. The first roulette board showed “Mystery battle” which was either Gilgamesh or some other Hildibrand fight. The second roulette board stopped at “no party list, no focus target”. Okay, we can do this! The PCs already had prepared that both were hidden. I was White Mage once more and Mag was Tank again, I think. Obviously, we wrecked Gilgamesh. After all, there is a small health bar unter the character names on the screen so you know who to cast on.

Next up was the Feast. It was the first time, I tried the Feast out! And I was nervous as I remember The Wolve’s Den times and also in Frontlines, PvP life is harsh. I was playing as a Summoner, Mag was Ninja. The person next to Mag was our healer. He was like: “I’m new, what do I do?” Mag gave him a few tips.

When the battle started, we actually wrecked the other team. First, Mag and me attacked the enemy AST who, accordig to Mag, did not heal himself much or at all. Next we killed the other DPS who just stood there and didn’t really try to run to hide from my DoT casts. The tank also didn’t try to stop either of us DPSs with stuns or anything. In the end, we won. Our healer was like “YESS!! I don’t know what I was doing but we won!”. He seemed so happy :D Was glad to give that feeling to a potential new player.

Nearby, there was a place where you could buy food and sit down. It was decorated as the Eorzea Grill. Unfortunately, my photo is very blurry but I don’t have any better one, so I’ll post it anyway. They just sell normal food there, no FFXIV themed food :\

2016-08-17 Gamescom 04

Afterwards, we tried out some other games like Titanfall 2 (I had no idea what I was doing), Diablo I, Overwatch (I totally carried as Bastion, camping the enemies strategically perfect), that Blizzard copy of Dota/LoL and Mag tried WoW, but they only let you play the current game that you can play at home, so he was quickly finished.

Afterwards, we checked out the Merchandise area. I bought a Mandragora Queen plush and a cute Lulu (League of Legends) figure.

In the end, there was a place where you could become a game card:

2016-08-17 Gamescom 01

See you next year, Gamescom. :D

Leave a Reply

